Understanding Michigan Law Regarding Cannabis Intake
If you live in Michigan and are looking to try cannabis for the first time, we have some good news: you're in the right state, because the plant we all love is legal there. But hey, slow your preroll! There are still rules and regulations you should know before you begin consuming. After all, we want you to enjoy your cannabis products safely and without getting into trouble. With this in mind, we're going to help you understand Michigan law regarding recreational cannabis intake.
What is Legal
You are legally allowed to consume cannabis as a patient and for recreational purposes. It has been legal for medical use since it won the vote in 2008. Back then, only patients with serious or terminal conditions who had approval from a physician were permitted to possess or grow cannabis plants. Ten years later, however, voters in Michigan made their voices heard, and cannabis was legalized for all adults over the age of 21. By 2019, residents were able to buy products from retailers. With that said, there are still municipalities within the state that have not approved the sale of cannabis products.
Although cannabis is legal in Michigan, employers have the option to require a drug test for job seekers. Keep this in mind if you partake and are looking for a new job.
Purchasing for Recreation
Those who are purchasing for recreational consumption can buy as much as 2.5 ounces per outing, with a maximum of 15 grams of concentrates. Products are sold at adult-use dispensaries, which are controlled by the Marijuana Regulatory Agency (MRA). It's legal to accumulate up to 10 ounces in your home, though quantities exceeding 2.5 ounces are to be kept within a sealed container. Possessing an amount over the legal limit could result in a fine of up to $500 for first-time offenders.
If you want to grow your own products, you can. State law permits as many as 12 plants per home, from which cultivators may have a maximum of 10 ounces in their possession. Growing more than 12 will result in a $500 fine for up to 24 plants. Anything beyond that will be considered a misdemeanor, which could lead to incarceration.
Unless you have a license, you cannot sell anything you grow. Any attempts to profit from unlicensed cannabis distribution could result in fines ranging from $500 to $10,000,000 and a sentence of 4-15 years depending on the amount in the transaction. Exporting or shipping cannabis is considered a federal offense and will be punished accordingly.
While unauthorized distribution for profit is against the law, you can gift a limited amount to friends, family, and even Stoner Dave — as long as the recipient is an adult and the portion does not exceed 2.5 ounces (15 grams if it's in the form of a concentrate).
Medical Consumption in Michigan
Patients 18 or older are allowed 10 ounces a month and may purchase 2.5 ounces a day until reaching their monthly limit. These consumers will need to seek an MRA-managed dispensary, though the option to grow is available for medicinal purposes as well. Medical cultivators will have to note their interest in growing when they apply, and they are expected to adhere to the 12-plant limit just like recreational consumers.
If you do decide to cultivate your own cannabis, be sure your plants are locked away in a fully enclosed area and out of sight from the public. This goes for medical and recreational growers. Failure to do so could result in a fine of up to $100 and the removal of your plants.
A patient is allowed to select a caregiver when applying for their registry ID card. In order to qualify as a caregiver, one must be a Michigan resident 21 or older and free of felonies for at least ten years. Anyone who has ever been convicted of a crime involving drugs or violence is not eligible to serve as a caregiver. Home delivery is also an option, though it's unclear whether it will still be available after the COVID-19 pandemic is under control.
Contrary to what you may have heard, you cannot legally possess or purchase medical cannabis without both an official registry ID card and a state-issued form of identification. Attempting to procure products in such a way could result in your arrest.
Michigan allows reciprocity, meaning non-residents who are visiting can buy medical cannabis as long as they hold a medical card and a state-issued ID.
Staying Out of Trouble
Cannabis consumption by patients and adults over 21 is restricted to private settings and residences. You are not allowed to enjoy products while operating or inside a motor vehicle, though you may carry a legal amount of cannabis in your automobile as long as it's enclosed in a sealed container or stored in your trunk. If you are caught consuming in your car or driving while experiencing the effects of cannabis and it is your first offense, you may be fined $300, face 93-day imprisonment, and/or be ordered to serve 360 hours of community service. Students may not possess or consume cannabis while they are on the property of a federally funded college. First-time violators who are found to be in possession of cannabis where prohibited will either serve a year in jail or pay a fine of $1000. Additionally, if you are convicted of a cannabis-related infraction, your license will be suspended for six months.
So there you have it. These are the important things to keep in mind if you're looking to start consuming cannabis in the state of Michigan. As always, we encourage our readers to adhere to state law and to consume safely and mindfully. After all, you don't want your experience to be tarnished by a hefty fine, or worse.